Skip to content

What I Believe and Why – Introduction

Throughout human history, we have craved the answers to certain questions. The deep questions. The questions whose answers underlie all of life. How did the universe begin? How were we made, and by who, if anyone? Perhaps the most important question is “Why were we made?” Countless civilizations have sought the answers to these questions. Some read the answers from the various scrapes off of bones. Some ingest hallucinogens and seek answers within. Still others carefully apply scientific principles and form answers based on experience and reason. No matter how one attains their answers, those answers inevitably shape a person. The life of one who believes their purpose in life is to have as large a family as possible will undoubtedly live a visibly different life from the one who believes their purpose in life is to enjoy as many sights and sounds as possible, and consume as many resources as possible for their own comfort and ease.

Unfortunately, what is often forgotten about these various strands of the quest for truth is that they can be wrong. In fact, logically speaking, at best only one of them can be right (although perhaps none are right!). These strands are called religions and everyone holds to one. Some embrace this reality, while others shy away from the term (whether it is because they say “reason, not religion” or “relationship, not religion). The fact remains, however, that everyone holds to some sort of belief system. Whether that system is atheism, Judaism, Islam, Christianity, Hinduism, Shintoism, or some eclectic mix, we all hold to something.

We should strive to know what we believe, and why we believe it.  I want to explain what I believe, and why I believe it. If someone asks me what I believe, I can say this summary:

I am a Confessionally Reformed Baptist Christian.

Over the next four weeks I want to write a few words as to what those mean, and why I believe the way I do.

  • Why am I not Muslim, or Atheist, but Christian?
  • Why am I not Roman Catholic, or Arminian, or Lutheran, but Reformed?
  • Why am I not Presbyterian or Dutch Reformed, but Baptist?
  • What is a confession, why do I hold to one, and to which one do I hold?

My goal isn’t to change minds. It isn’t to attack the beliefs of others. My goal is simply to show in specificity what I believe. That will involve explaining why I think that many beliefs are not only less appealing, but actually wrong. And not only wrong, but dangerously so. If what I believe corresponds to reality, the fate of billions are at stake.

Leave a comment